FINANCES IN PRISON

There are always guys in here who want to borrow or bum something (a cup of coffee, an instant soup, etc.). And you can spot the addicts and others who can’t manage their finances and habits from a mile away. I’ve learned that you have to tell these guys no. You’re not doing them a favor by subsidizing their bad habit. I know. I’ve been there. I used to be terrible with my money, borrowing, gambling, asking for people to give me something. I eventually learned, but the one thing that held me back from that lesson was that there were always people around willing to “help” me out. It wasn’t help; it was just shielding me from the consequences of my irresponsible behavior. And no one ever learns to be responsible unless they understand (and usually experience) the consequences.

Dan Turner
DOC# 767569

Leave a Reply

