S*HIP PROGRAM FOR PRISONERS (part 9)

WHO ARE YOU?
WHERE ARE YOU GOING?
WHAT DO YOU HAVE TO DECLAIR?

Whenever you cross the border into this country, the
Boarder patrol always ask you three questions. I have
never forgotten these questions.

So, when I started speaking at graduations, I always
ask these three questions. The three questions at the
boarder are, simply: “Who are you?”,
“Where are you going?” and “What do you have to declare?”

WHO ARE YOU?:

What do you know about the lable you wear? How do you
Talk to yourself?

WHERE ARE YOU GOING?:

What’s your vision? What goals have you set for yourself?

WHAT DO YOU HAVE TO DECLARE?

What are you proud? What have you done in the past that
you could use as a spring board to take you into the
future?

My mentor often talks about the concept of “flick back,
flick up.” When something good has happend to you,
there is an emotion that goes with that goodness that
you can use repeatedly as you move into a new situation.
The important thing is to ” flick back ” to that emotion
go back to it in your mind and ” flick up “into what your
doing at the present time.

You maybe very successful in one part your life, but, when
you’re faced with a new situation, you often forget about
that success. It’s important to go back to these successes,
to feel them and visualize them and move them forward
to where you are right now, so that you can deal with the
next obstacle when you can answer these three questions:
1–Who are you?
2–Where are you going?
3–And what do you have to declare?

I believe we have the chance to move forward in how we
affirm ourselves and what we affirm within ourselves.

IN CLOSING:

I do hope you see my progress and that you get a better
understanding of my world as a person with a disability.
I was not always this understanding. Over the years
I really paId attention to those who really cared about
my well being. I want to pay it forward and help other
Prisoners like I was hepled. Granted I will be here for
thirty more years. Will you stand with me for change.

I would also like to see my S*HIP Project become a
program within this prison. I will pray and listen to advice
I want to leave you with a poem that I realy like.

” One ship drives east and another drives west
with the self same winds that blow.
’tis the set of sails, and not the gails,
that tell us the way to go.
Like the winds of the sea are the ways of fate;
As we voyage along life, tis the set of a soul,
that decides it’s goal, and the calm, or the strife.

By: Ella Wheeler Wilcox

Thank you for taking the time to read this proposal. Your
Comments are valuable to me.

Dickie Oppen Jr.
DOC #947545

Leave a Reply

